EU funds in the CZ > Information about the funds > Regions of EU regional policy

Regions of EU regional policy

For regional policy purposes, the European Union uses the NUTS system of regional subdivision. There are three levels under the NUTS system, and each Member State is divided up into these levels (according to population). For the utilisation of EU funds, the regions on the NUTS II level are used the most; for this reason, cohesion regions were created in the Czech Republic.